Student & Staff Recognitions

Student Honor Rolls

Student honor rolls are calculated at the end of each marking period for grades 3 - 12. Courses in which students receive a numerical grade and earn credit is used in determining the honor roll. The honor roll is based on the average a student achieves each marking period.

Seniors of the Month

Each high school selects a student each month who has excelled in academics, athletics, community service, school citizenship, or any area they feel deserves recognition. The student and family members are invited to attend the monthly school board meeting, where they are recognized for the achievement.

Bruton High School Senior of the Month   Grafton High School Senior of the Month   Tabb High School Senior of the Month   York High School Senior of the Month
Emily Tassara
Bruton High School
  Shivam Jain
Grafton High School
  Alice Fang
Tabb High School
  Casey Tingen
York High School

Teacher of the Year

The YCSD Teacher of the Year Program recognizes outstanding teachers who have displayed extraordinary teaching, creativity, and excellence at their school and in their community.

2022 Level Winners

Julie Miller   Melissa Engquist   Jamie Carpenter
Julie Miller
Mt. Vernon Elementary School
Elementary School Teacher of the Year
  Melissa Engquist
Tabb Middle School
Middle School Teacher of the Year &
YCSD Teacher of the Year
  Jamie Carpenter
Tabb High School
High School Teacher of the Year

2022 School-based Teachers of the Year

The following teachers have been selected as their school's Teacher of the Year

Elementary Schools   Middle Schools
Kathy Rivera Bethel Manor Elementary School   Stephanie Coble Grafton Middle School
Lynn Morris Coventry Elementary School   Bryan Cole Queens Lake Middle School
Brooke Bultman Dare Elementary School   Melissa Engquist Tabb Middle School
Callie Giaccio Grafton Bethel Elementary School   Nicole Judy Yorktown Middle School
Amber Kaczmarczyk Magruder Elementary School      
Julie Miller Mt. Vernon Elementary School   High Schools
Teresa Griffith Seaford Elementary School   Christine Pregler Bruton High School
Heather Emerson Tabb Elementary School   Shakenya Coleman Grafton High School
Mary Burgett Waller Mill Elementary School   Jamie Carpenter Tabb High School
Danielle Neubauer Yorktown Elementary School   Amy Hunter York High School
      Amanda Collier York River Academy

Para-Educators of the Year

From helping prepare materials, to monitoring students, to providing one-on-one support, para-educators play an important role in our student's learning and development. The Para-Educator of the Year award recognizes staff members who have displayed extraordinary service, creativity, and excellence in supporting student achievement as an active and contributing member of the instructional team.

Name School  

Milena Marinova

Milena Marinova
York River Academy
Division-Level Para-Educator of the Year

Jesica Green Bethel Manor Elementary School  
Jacqueline Kehoe Coventry Elementary School  
Pamela Reviea Dare Elementary School  
Kristi Bush Grafton Bethel Elementary School  
Rachael Bennett Magruder Elementary School  
Cynthia Ames Mt. Vernon Elementary School  
Holly Steineke Seaford Elementary School  
Dawn Stanton Tabb Elementary School  
Cynthia Feser Waller Mill Elementary School  
Thomas Philipoom Yorktown Elementary School  
Jason Reader Grafton Middle School  
Hunter Cridlin Queens Lake Middle School  
Gail Link Tabb Middle School  
Mary Worland Yorktown Middle School  
Claire White Grafton High School  
Ingrid Holzer-Miller Tabb High School  
Ramona Stotler York High School  
Milena Marinova York River Academy  

Support Staff of the Year

Support staff employees include full- and part-time office, food services, and health services staff, as well as employees in various departments across the division. They play a critical role assisting teachers and administrators in providing services to the instructional program and facilities. The Support Staff of the Year award recognizes employees who have performed their duties in such an outstanding manner that they significantly contributed to the division mission and goals.

Name School  

Samuel Harrington

Samuel Harrington
Tabb Middle School
Division-Level Support Staff of the Year

Anna Collum Bethel Manor Elementary School  
Michelle Stewart Coventry Elementary School  
Heather Nielson Dare Elementary School  
Maria Sheets Grafton Bethel Elementary School  
Tyrone Little Magruder Elementary School  
Crystal Belcher Mt. Vernon Elementary School  
Arla Bell Seaford Elementary School  
Tanya Brevard Tabb Elementary School  
Annie Belott Waller Mill Elementary School  
Julie Thomas Yorktown Elementary School  
Craig Savchenko Grafton Middle School  
Laura Biondi Queens Lake Middle School  
Samuel Harrington Tabb Middle School  
Heather Price Yorktown Middle School  
Kimberly Barden-Robinson Bruton High School  
Johnnie Burke Grafton High School  
Holly Reeves Tabb High School  
Julia Warlick York River Academy  

The York County School Division website contains links to other sites that are not owned or controlled by York County School Division. Be advised that we, the York County School Division,
are not responsible or liable for the content, security or information of these sites. These external links are provided for your convenience.